“House Divided” License Plates and The Message You’re Sending

I’m sure you’ve seen them before, and if you are a decent human being with knowledge of the definition of loyalty, you were probably disgusted.

Look, I don’t care what you and your family do behind closed doors, but it’s when you bring it out in public that you’ve granted me, and every other proud and loyal FAN, the right to judge you. There is nothing more offensive, betraying, and down-right disgusting than when I see a “house-divided” license plate.

Your "fanhood" disgusts me.

The fact that these crumbling households have decided to display their lack of togetherness is yet another sign of the extinction of the “true FAN”.  Gone are the days where a FAN would proudly wear their team’s colors despite the sport, record, or year.

Look at today’s self-proclaimed “fans” who are wearing Cavs jerseys one year and Heat jerseys the next.  And don’t give me that garbage about rooting for an individual player. You think there’s a single Cavs fan that roots for LeBron? That’s the equivalent of being happy that your ex-wife/girlfriend is now dating a better-looking and more successful man than you……AFTER she dumped you for being a loser.

Back to the plates…

Maybe you don’t care what people think of you, and maybe you’re OK with dividing your loyalties, but let’s get serious here. . . . let’s think about the kids. These half-fan bastard children are going to grow up not knowing who to cheer for.

“Do I pick “mommy’s team” or “daddy’s team”?
“What about when they play each other?”
“Will daddy love me less if I don’t cheer for his team?”

These mini-modern-day Benedict Arnold’s will never know what it’s like to jointly bash a single team during a game, or celebrate in unity with like-minded fans at a tailgate. They will be shunned, mocked, and questioned.

Spare your child from a life time of inner turmoil and questioning…..change your license plate. If not for yourself, for your children.

4 responses to ““House Divided” License Plates and The Message You’re Sending

  1. This is so true. Fortunately, both my children hate Alabama equally. Where myself and my husband have failed is allowing our eldest to be poisoned with the UK Wildcats. Why, you ask, would I have to banish my own child to stand with my sister’s family in our Christmas picture? Because he chose to wear his UK blue, rather than our beloved Auburn Orange & Blue. At least one of my children knows the truth. Chase, you’re Mommy’s favorite. 😉

  2. I am truly sorry to hear about circumstance. Seems like you’re at a pivotal crossroads where you can either force him to be an Auburn fan or challenge him to be the most loyal UK fan he can be. Tough decisions to be made…

  3. It’s supposed to be a joke. One of our sons attends WKU, the other UK.

  4. duh, maybe the family has two kids going to differnt colleges

Leave a Reply

