2011 SEC Fearless Predictions

Seeing as how today is the day that the “sports writers” that are covering SEC Media Days get to show just how little they actually know about football, I figured I would show the world my thought process in selecting my division winners that were previously posted here at The Basement Dweller.  Instead of just ranking the teams according to how good I believe they’re going to be, I actually went through the schedule for each team, game-by-game, and came up with what I believe will be close to each team’s record at the end of the regular season.  Here’s what I came up with:

SEC West

  1.  Alabama 12-0 (8-0)
  2.  LSU 10-2 (6-2)
  3. Mississippi State 8-4 (4-4)
  4. Arkansas 7-5 (4-4)
  5. Ole Miss 7-5 (3-5)
  6. Auburn 4-8 (0-8)

SEC East

  1. South Carolina 11-1 (7-1)
  2. Georgia 11-1 (7-1)
  3. Florida 8-4 (5-3)
  4. Kentucky 6-6 (2-6)
  5. Tennessee 6-6 (2-6)
  6. Vanderbilt 3-9 (0-8)

Looking at the numbers above, you can see that I truly believe that it is a three-horse race in each division, with two of those three teams actually having a legitimate shot to get to Atlanta.  However, I was fairly pleased with the fact that after I totaled up the wins for each team I came to realize that I had come up with 10 bowl-eligible teams after the proverbial dust settles.

-Chris

Leave a Reply

